Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.


DC Arts
  • facebook
  • Follow us on X
  • instagram

DC Arts Commission Presents Online Exhibition of Women Photographers

Monday, March 29, 2021
Opening event features panel discussion in celebration of Women’s History Month

Jeffrey Scott (CAH), [email protected]

(WASHINGTON, DC) – The DC Commission on the Arts and Humanities (CAH) presents a new online art exhibition titled, Our City, Ourselves: Women Photograph Washington, now through May 21, 2021. The exhibition features 52 photographs by 25 women artists.

An online panel discussion will be held on Tuesday, March 30, 2021 from 4 – 5:30 pm as the opening event for the exhibition and will feature several of the exhibition’s artists discussing what it means to be a photographer in Washington, DC today. The event is free, but registration is required.

“This is a city of photographers: amateurs, professionals, photojournalists, artists, residents and visitors,” said Dr. Heran Sereke-Brhan, Executive Director of the DC Commission on the Arts and Humanities. “This exhibition features work by women photographers who capture the people, places, and interactions that define the District.”

The exhibition is presented online using a virtual gallery platform that replicates CAH’s physical gallery at 200 I (Eye) Street SE. The artworks are all part of the District’s Art Bank Collection.

Throughout the run of Our City, Ourselves, CAH invites the public to take pictures across all eight wards of the District and share them on social media with the hashtag #OurCityCAH and tag the ward in which the picture was taken. The exhibition’s closing event the evening of May 20 will showcase some of the most powerful images with remarks from their creators.

To access the exhibition, and the opening and closing events, visit

Our City, Ourselves Artists:
Maria Bryk, Sally Canzoneri, Lely Constantinople, Sharon Farmer, Peggy Fleming, Roxana Alger Geffen, Tatiana Gulenkina, Linda Hesh, Lynn Kanaskie, Gloria Kirk, Katie Kirtland, Maggie Knaus, Roshani Kothari, Gwen Lewis, Kate MacDonnell, Cheryl MacLean, Susan Muniak, Heidi Nielsen, Caitlin Teal Price, Susana Raab, Alexandra Silverthorne, Clarissa Sligh, Martha Tabor, Diane Tuckman, Deborah Willis.