## DC COMMISSION ON THE ARTS & HUMANITIES REGULAR MEETING AGENDA

Monday, August 21, 2023 | 5:30 - 7pm 200 | St SE, Washington, DC + Online via Webex



Members of the public are invited to observe the meeting live online on CAH's <u>YouTube</u> channel. A recording of this meeting will be available online at dcarts.dc.gov.

## **AGENDA**

- 1. CALL TO ORDER & ROLL CALL | Reggie Van Lee, Chairperson
- 2. LAND ACKNOWLEDGEMENT Recognizing the ancestral homelands of the Nacotchtank and Piscataway Peoples
- 3. ADOPTION OF THE AGENDA
- 4. WELCOME | Reggie Van Lee, Chairperson
- 5. PRESENTATIONS
  - 5.1. Diyanna Monet, FY23 AHFP grantee
  - 5.2. Deb Gottesman, Arts Institute for Creative Advancement
- 6. PUBLIC COMMENT
  - 6.1. Kristi Maiselman, CulturalDC
  - 6.2. Margery Goldberg, Zenith Community Arts Foundation
  - 6.3. Sophia McCrocklin, artist
  - 6.4. Philip Linder, Jackson Art Center
  - 6.5. Valeria Massarelli, filmmaker
- 7. DIRECTOR'S REPORT | Aaron Myers, Executive Director
- 8. FINANCE COMMITTEE REPORT | Kymber Menkiti, Treasurer
- 9. GRANTS COMMITTEE REPORT | Gretchen Wharton, Committee Chair

## **10. UNFINISHED BUSINESS**

10.1. Commissioner Wharton: Discussion and vote on proposed draft rules to implement the Large Capital Grants program (FY 2024 Budget Support Act of 2023 (DC Act 25-176, Sec. 2162))

## 11. NEW BUSINESS

- 11.1. Chairperson Van Lee: Discussion and vote on recommending Commissioner Wharton to the NASAA Board of Directors
- 11.2. Chairperson Van Lee: Discussion and vote on ceremonial resolution to recognize the 40<sup>th</sup> anniversary of KanKouran West African Dance Company
- 11.3. Chairperson Van Lee: Discussion and Vote on ceremonial resolution to recognize the 65<sup>th</sup> anniversary of Ben's Chili Bowl
- 11.4. Chairperson Van Lee: Discussion on standing committee assignments
- 12. ADJOURNMENT | Reggie Van Lee, Chairperson

The next regular meeting of the Commission will be Wednesday, September 27, 2023.

This meeting is governed by the Open Meetings Act. Please address any questions or complaints arising under this meeting to the Office of Open Government at <a href="mailto:opengovoffice@dc.gov">opengovoffice@dc.gov</a>.