Commission on the Arts and Humanities

DC Agency Top Menu

Cold Emergency -The District's Cold Emergency Plan is currently active.


-A +A
Bookmark and Share

Write On Initiative Exhibits Works on Metrobus

Tuesday, October 28, 2008

The Poet Laureate of the District of Columbia, Dolores Kendrick, and the Washington Metropolitan Area Transit Authority (WMATA) and the DC Commission on the Arts and Humanities held a public reception to unveil the Write On! Initiative. This initiative is part of WMATA’s Metro Arts in Transit Program whose purpose is to feature various artistic forms throughout the Metrobus and Metrorail systems. The goal of the Write On! Initiative is to make poetry and riding the bus a combination that is a meaningful part of our lives. On Wednesday, October 29, 2008 the community was invited to share in this idea by attending the Write On! Poetry on the Bus Exhibition and Reception.

Posters featuring the 38 award-winning poems from District Senior High School students who participated in the Poet Laureate Poetry Awards Program will be installed in the buses and on display at various Metro stops. The vision of WMATA, the Office of the DC Poet Laureate, the DC Commission on the Arts and Humanities, Office of the Mayor Adrian M. Fenty and the Inter-American Bank Cultural Center combined offer this historical poetry event to the District of Columbia Community.

Michael McBride, Manager of Metro’s Art in Transit Program invited DC Poet Laureate Dolores Kendrick to provide the literature featured in the Write On! programs maiden voyage. Ms. Kendrick feels these young people are champions. “Through their poetry they’ve dared to share with us their hopes, their dreams, their love of family, and their celebration of self. Mr. McBride adds, “When we encourage creativity in our young people, we make their future possible.” 

Dolores Kendrick, Poet Laureate of DC wanted to publicly acknowledge the DC Public & Charter Schools and the Educators that have participated in the Poet Laureate Poetry Awards from its inception to date. 

Anacostia Senior High School
Dianne Peele, Annie Smith, Madeline E. Foreman, Marilyn Holland, Theresa McDougald, Dorothy McIver,
and Linda Wilkinson
Bell Multicultural High School
Katey Comerford, Samuel Miranda and Jimmy Carrasquillo

Cesar Chavez Public Charter High School for Public Policy
Robin Megabow, Garrett Phelan, Richard Loeper – Viti and Adam Chiles

Duke Ellington School of the Arts
Patricia Elam, Mark Williams, Kenneth Carroll, Robin Vasquez Lisa Page, Joel Dias-Porter, Lew Berry, Carolyn Jones-Howard and Cullen Swinson

H.D. Woodson Senior High School
Edna Reynolds and Pat Liebmann

Spingarn Senior High
Sharon Williams, B. Brooks, O. Reynolds, R. Mathews,
Master Sgt. Tillman, Alma Gambrill, and Mary Nesbit

Eastern Senior High
Stephanie Reid

Thurgood Marshall Academy Public Charter School
Keisha Lyons

Benjamin Banneker Senior High School
Dilys E. Lande

The School without Walls
Shari Vollin and Edward Ismail

Jefferson Senior High
Monica Jones

Cardoza Senior High School
Frazier O’Leary

McKinley Technology High School
Angela Harriston

Download the 38 award winning poems.