Commission on the Arts and Humanities

DC Agency Top Menu

-A +A
Bookmark and Share

Special Honorees and Finalists of the 32nd Annual Mayor's Arts Awards Announced

Wednesday, August 9, 2017
Individuals and organizations represent outstanding achievements in the arts and humanities

(Washington) - Mayor Muriel Bowser and the DC Commission on the Arts and Humanities (CAH) announce the special honorees and finalists of the 32nd Annual Mayor's Arts Awards.

At the public awards ceremony in September, three individuals will be recognized as special honorees. Wilhelmina Cole Holladay, co-founder of the National Museum of Women in the Arts, will receive the Mayor's Arts Award for Lifetime Achievement. Ari Roth, artistic director of Mosaic Theatre Company, will receive the Mayor's Arts Award for Visionary Leadership. Jazz musician and educator Davey Yarborough will receive the Mayor's Arts Award for Distinguished Honor.

In addition, twenty-four individuals and organizations are finalists for Mayor's Arts Awards across six categories: Excellence in the Creative Industries, Excellence in Performing Arts, Excellence in the Humanities, Excellence in Visual Arts, The Larry Neal Writers' Award and the Mayor's Award for Arts Education. All nominees for these award categories are publically submitted.

"The individuals and organizations being honored at the 32nd Annual Mayor's Arts Awards add to the vibrancy of Washington, DC and help us define who we are as a city. Today, our creative economy is a powerful driver of economic development, helping revitalize neighborhoods and improve the quality of life for residents in all eight wards," said Mayor Bowser. "Washington, DC is rich with arts and culture, and we are proud to highlight the hardworking professionals who make life better for Washingtonians and visitors alike."

"This year's special honorees and finalists represent the depth of professionalism and talent in the District's arts and humanities communities," said Commission on the Arts and Humanities Executive Director Arthur Espinoza, Jr. "It is an honor for us to showcase their accomplishments at the Mayor's Arts Awards to the entire city."

The 32nd Annual Mayor's Arts Awards event will be presented on Thursday, September 14, 2017 at 7:00 PM at the Historic Lincoln Theatre, 1215 U Street NW, Washington, DC. Admission is free and open to the public. For more information, visit www.dcarts.dc.gov or call 202-724-5613.

Finalists for the 32nd Annual Mayor's Arts Awards

Category Finalist
Excellence in Creative Industries Paul Marengo
  Studio Theatre
  Environmental Film Festival in the Nation's Capital
  Washington Area Lawyers for the Arts
Excellence in Performing Arts Washington Improv Theater
  The Choral Arts Society of Washington
  Dance Place
  Only Make Believe
Excellence in the Humanities Rayceen Pendarvis
  Kitty Felde
  Joy Ford Austin
  Recreation Wish List Committee
Excellence in Visual Arts Sondra N. Arkin
  Katherine Tzu-Ian Mann
  Cory L. Stowers
  Michael Crossett
The Larry Neal Writers' Award (Adult) Taylor Johnson
  Brendan Williams-Childs
  Mona Nicole Sfeir
  Dionne Peart
The Mayor's Award for Arts Education The Theatre Lab School of the Dramatic Arts
  Inner City-Inner Child
  Young Playwright's Theater
  Sitar Arts Center