Commission on the Arts and Humanities

DC Agency Top Menu

-A +A
Bookmark and Share

Mayor Fenty Announces Winners of Mayor's Arts Awards

Thursday, March 25, 2010

Washington, DC—The DC Commission on the Arts and Humanities (DCCAH) celebrated the 25th Annual Mayors Arts Awards and honored the inspiring accomplishments of ten artists and cultural organizations. The Mayor’s Arts Awards are the highest honors conferred by the District of Columbia in recognition of artistic excellence and service. This year's award recipients demonstrate the wide range and highest caliber of talent that the District of Columbia arts community has to offer. Winners were chosen by the Mayor's Arts Awards advisory jury comprised of prominent members of the District’s arts community with expertise in dance, music, theatre, literary arts, visual arts, arts service and arts education.

DCCAH's commitment of raising the profile of its grantees continues through the Mayor's Arts Awards by providing grant awards to the winner of each category. The awards were presented in the following categories: Excellence in an Artistic Discipline, Excellence in Service to the Arts, Innovation in the Arts, Outstanding Contribution to Arts Education, Outstanding Emerging Artists and the Mayor’s Award for Arts Teaching. Additionally, the Mayor’s Award for Visionary Leadership in the Arts was presented to Felix Angel, Director of the Inter-American Development Bank's Cultural Center. Washington Post writer Michael O'Sullivan also received the Mayor's Special Recognition Award. The winners will be featured on Art (202) TV on TV-16. 

“Washington’s arts community is integral to the world-class city we call home,” says Gloria Nauden, Executive Director of the DC Commission on the Arts and Humanities. “This year we received 102 nominations, a record number. The Mayor’s Arts Awards represent our appreciation of the contributions made to the rich cultural vitality of our city.” The Awards have a long tradition of honoring the best of the best in the arts and sets the artistic tone for years to come. Since 1968, the DC Commission on the Arts and Humanities has supported community development through the arts by promoting artistic excellence. Legends such as Leonard Slatkin, Roberta Flack, Shirley Horn and Peggy Cooper Cafritz are past recipients of Mayor's Arts Awards.