Commission on the Arts and Humanities

DC Agency Top Menu

-A +A
Bookmark and Share

Mayor Bowser Announces Finalists and Special Honorees of the 33rd Annual Mayor’s Arts Awards

Monday, September 17, 2018

(WASHINGTON, DC) – Today, as part of 202Creates, Mayor Muriel Bowser announced the finalists and special honorees of the 33rd Annual Mayor’s Arts Awards. The annual awards celebrate and honor outstanding achievements in the arts, humanities and creative industries.

“The contributions and immense talent that DC artists, teachers, nonprofits, and creatives bring to our community every day have truly made DC the greatest city for the arts and humanities and the capital of creativity,” said Mayor Bowser. “Through these awards, we celebrate and honor the artists and professionals who continue to inspire all Washingtonians.”

The Mayor’s Arts Awards are the most prestigious honors conferred by the District on individual artists, teachers, nonprofit organizations, and patrons of the arts. Twenty-one individuals and organizations are finalists for Mayor’s Arts Awards across seven categories: Excellence in Visual Arts, Excellence in Performance Arts, Excellence in Creative Industries, Excellence in Arts Education, Excellence in the Humanities, and The Larry Neal Writers’ Awards: Adult and Youth.

Finalists for the 33rd Annual Mayor’s Arts Awards
Category Finalist
Excellence in Arts Education Young Playwrights' Theater
Inner City-Inner Child
DC Scores
Excellence in Creative Industries Michael Marshall
DC Jazz Festival
DC Independent Film Festival
Excellence in Performing Arts

Woolly Mammoth Theatre Company
Washington Performing Arts
Chloe and Maud Arnold

Excellence in the Humanities

Tara Campbell
African American Civil War Museum
One World Education

Excellence in Visual Arts

Tim Tate
Jay F. Coleman/Jahlion
Cory L. Stowers

The Larry Neal Writers’ Award (Adult)

Kitty Felde
Elizabeth Acevedo
Martha Addy Young

The Larry Neal Writers’ Award (Youth)

Madeleine Freedberg
Uniyah Campbell
Arisemma Okrah

Honor Awards will also be presented to three special honorees: jazz pianist Allyn Johnson will receive the Award for Distinguished Honor, Step Afrika! founder C. Brian Williams will receive the Award for Visionary Leadership, and go-go band Rare Essence will receive the award for Lifetime Achievement.

“For years, the District has been home to many incredibly talented artists, creatives, and entrepreneurs. The District’s creative community continues to grow and flourish,” said DC Commission on the Arts and Humanities Interim Director Angie M. Gates. “The Awards are a celebration of creativity, and a recognition of the profound impact these individuals and organizations have on our city.”

Mayor Muriel Bowser launched 202Creates in September 2016 to amplify and celebrate DC’s creative culture. What started as a September-only celebration has turned into a fast-growing, year-round movement.

The 33rd Annual Mayor’s Arts Awards will be presented on Tuesday, September 25, 2018 at 7 pm at the Historic Lincoln Theatre, 1215 U Street, NW. Admission is free and open to the public. For more information, visit dcarts.dc.gov or call (202) 724-5613.