Commission on the Arts and Humanities

DC Agency Top Menu

-A +A
Bookmark and Share

DC Arts Commission Forms Task Force on Equity, Inclusion, and Belonging

Thursday, August 6, 2020
Agency seeks to ensure fully accessible resources to all communities

Jeffrey Scott (CAH), 202-341-9908, [email protected]

(WASHINGTON, DC) -- The DC Commission on the Arts and Humanities (CAH) has established a Task Force on Equity, Inclusion and Belonging, a first for the agency. As the designated state arts agency for the District of Columbia, CAH is one of the largest funders of arts and culture in the city, awarding millions of dollars in grants each year to support the work of local independent artists and nonprofits cultural organizations.

“We believe deeply that the arts are not a privilege, but a fundamental right shared by all of us. As such, it is our duty to ensure that this fundamental right can be enjoyed by everyone,” said Kay Kendall, Chairperson of the DC Commission on the Arts and Humanities. “This Task Force is currently developing survey instruments for various constituencies to gather information about how CAH is perceived in the arts community, what barriers exist in the grants area preventing full equity and inclusion, and how the Commission can improve its service to the entire arts community and the District as a whole.”

The CAH Task Force will analyze information received from grantees and non-grantees, and assess internal agency procedures and policies in order to create and propose a set of practices to address any shortfalls and ensure robust, varied, and fully-accessible resources to all communities.

The Task Force is comprised of a combination of CAH commissioners and staff, as well as community members, and is co-chaired by CAH Chairperson Kay Kendall and Commissioner Cora Masters Barry. The chair for the Task Force, Reggie Van Lee, is a nationally recognized arts patron and former management consultant.

The Task Force is expected to present its findings and suggestions for consideration to the full Board of Commissioners in October 2020.

CAH Task Force on Equity, Inclusion, and Belonging Membership
Reggie Van Lee, Chair
Kay Kendall, Co-Chair, CAH Chairperson
Cora Masters Barry, Co-Chair, CAH Commissioner
Rhona Wolfe Friedman, CAH Commissioner
Natalie Hopkinson, CAH Commissioner
José Alberto Uclés, CAH Commissioner
Gretchen Wharton, CAH Commissioner
Maggie Fitzpatrick, Community Member
Monica T. Ray, Community Member
Davey Yarborough, Community Member
Heran Sereke-Brhan, CAH Interim Director
Brian Allende, CAH Resource Allocation Analyst
Benjamen Douglas, CAH Grants Programs Manager
Lauren Dugas Glover, CAH Public Art Manager
David Markey, CAH Interim Senior Grants Officer
Khalid Randolph, CAH Grants Programs Manager
Jeffrey Scott, CAH Chief of External Affairs
J. Carl Wilson, Jr., CAH General Counsel