Commission on the Arts and Humanities

DC Agency Top Menu

-A +A
Bookmark and Share

Congratulating the Winners of the 30th Annual Mayor's Arts Awards

Friday, October 30, 2015
Honoring the achievements of the District's arts, culture and creative industries

The District's artists, arts organizations and arts educators were honored last night at the 30th Annual Mayor's Arts Awards at the Historic Lincoln Theatre, presented by Mayor Muriel Bowser and the DC Commission on the Arts and Humanities.

The Mayor's Arts Awards are the most prestigious honors conferred by the city on artists, teachers, nonprofit organizations and patrons of the arts. Nominations are submitted on behalf of those individuals and organizations that reside in the District of Columbia. A jury of arts and humanities professionals selected the finalists and winners.

"For 30 years, Washington, DC has celebrated the achievements of our talented local artists, educators and arts organizations," said Kay Kendall, Chair of the DC Commission on the Arts and Humanities. "We are proud to be able to recognize and support such a vibrant and eclectic cultural community."

The winners of the 30th Annual Mayor's Arts Awards are:

  • Southeast Boy Productions, for Innovation in the Arts
  • Washington Performing Arts, for Outstanding Contribution to Arts Education
  • Renée Stout, for Excellence in an Artistic Discipline
  • Adam Davies, for Outstanding Emerging Artist
  • Terry Benita Thomas (Seaton Elementary School), for Excellence in Arts Teaching
  • Women in Film and Video, for Excellence in Service to the Arts

In addition, several special honorees were recognized:  

  • Molly Smith, Artistic Director of Arena Stage, for Impact on Culture and Humanities
  • Dolores Kendrick, Poet Laureate of the District of Columbia, for Special Recognition
  • Street Sense, for Humanitarian Highlight
  • Dr. Ryuji Ueno and Dr. Sachiko Kuno, S&R Foundation, for Visionary Leadership
  • Peggy Cooper Cafritz, for Lifetime Achievement