Commission on the Arts and Humanities

DC Agency Top Menu

-A +A
Bookmark and Share

Announcing the Winners of the 33rd Annual Larry Neal Writers' Awards

Friday, June 10, 2016

Contact: Jeffrey Scott, [email protected], (202) 724-5613

Washington, DC–Yesterday, the DC Commission on the Arts and Humanities (DCCAH) hosted the 33rd Annual Larry Neal Writers' Awards. The awards recognize excellence in the literary arts by District of Columbia writers and are named in honor of renowned author and first executive director of DCCAH, Larry Neal.

"Being able to celebrate the accomplishments and talents of our local writers gives us all tremendous pride," said Arthur Espinoza, Jr., Executive Director of the DC Commission on the Arts and Humanities. "In keeping with our philosophy of lifelong experiences in the arts and humanities, we are honoring our established writers and our young writers through these awards."

Over seventy submissions were received for this year's competition. A panel of judges reviewed each application to determine the winner in each category.

Larry Neal Writers' Awards Winners

Adult Fiction
Tara Campbell for "Justice for Mama Jaboley"

Adult Poetry
Sandra Beasley for "The Sniper Dance,"
"Weak Ocean" and "Bass Pro Shops"

Adult Dramatic Writing
Rachel Hynes for "The Girl with the Elevator Shoe"

Youth Poetry (tie)
Albert Gordon III for "ABC" and "New Year"
Christina Cook for "Dream House" and "My Imagination"

Teen Poetry
Nesha Ruther for "Masada" and "Good Things"

Teen Fiction
Celia Caldwell for "We Are Just Neighbors"