Commission on the Arts and Humanities

DC Agency Top Menu

-A +A
Bookmark and Share

Announcing the Finalists of the 29th Annual Larry Neal Writers' Competition

Tuesday, April 17, 2012

Mayor Vincent C. Gray, along with the DC Commission on the Arts and Humanities is pleased to announce the finalists of the 29th Annual Larry Neal Writers’ Competition. The competition commemorates the artistic legacy and vision of cultural understanding of Larry Neal, a renowned author, academic and former Executive Director of the DC Commission on the Arts and Humanities.

“We received over 150 submissions this year from emerging and established writers, and from top to bottom, the writing was outstanding,” said Lionell Thomas, Executive Director for the DC Commission on the Arts and Humanities. “The creativity and talent of DC’s writers never ceases to amaze me. I am truly proud of our hometown talent.”

Winners will be announced at the Larry Neal Writers’ Awards ceremony on Friday, May 4, 2012 at 6:30 pm in the Folger Shakespeare Library’s Elizabethan Hall, held in partnership with the PEN/Faulker Foundation. Julie Otsuka, 2012 winner of the PEN/Faulkner Award for Fiction, will provide opening remarks. The ceremony is the culminating event for the writing competition, which was open to writers who reside in the District of Columbia. 


Adult Categories

Poetry Finalists

  • Holly Bass
  • Sandra Beasley
  • Fred Joiner

Fiction Finalists

  • Abbey Chung
  • Gabriel Louis
  • Robert Williams

Dramatic Writing Finalists

  • Randy Baker
  • Paco Madden
  • Danielle Mohlman

Teen Categories

Poetry Finalists

  • Asia Alston
  • Ellington HS
  • Idia Leigh
  • Ellington HS
  • Lauryn Nesbitt
  • Ellington HS

Fiction Finalists

  • Marcus Brown
  • Ellington HS
  • Kehinde Dosunmu
  • School Without Walls HS
  • Cara Rancin
  • Ellington HS

Youth Categories

Poetry Finalists

  • Muhammad Ali
  • Hart MS
  • TyJuan Hogan
  • Hart MS
  • LaShanda Jones
  • Hart MS

Fiction Finalists

  • Shu Yu Offner
  • St. Peter School
  • Claire Schmitt
  • Lafayette ES

For more information regarding the Larry Neal Writers’ Awards ceremony, please contact Carlyn Madden at [email protected]or call (202) 724-5613.