Commission on the Arts and Humanities

DC Agency Top Menu

-A +A
Bookmark and Share

33rd Annual Larry Neal Writers’ Awards

33rd Annual Larry Neal Writers’ Awards

Celebrating excellence in the literary arts by District of Columbia writers. Featuring a literary exhibit of excerpts, poems and short stories.

Reception and presentation of awards

Thursday, June 9, 2016 | 6:30 pm

200 I Street SE (Gallery)

Washington, DC 20003

Congratulations to the 2016 Winners!

Larry Neal Writers' Awards Winners

Adult Fiction
Tara Campbell for "Justice for Mama Jaboley"

Adult Poetry
Sandra Beasley for "The Sniper Dance,"
"Weak Ocean" and "Bass Pro Shops"

Adult Dramatic Writing
Rachel Hynes for "The Girl with the Elevator Shoe"

Youth Poetry (tie)
Albert Gordon III for "ABC" and "New Year"
Christina Cook for "Dream House" and "My Imagination"

Teen Poetry
Nesha Ruther for "Masada" and "Good Things"

Teen Fiction
Celia Caldwell for "We Are Just Neighbors"

About the Larry Neal Writers’ Awards

The Larry Neal Writers’ Competition commemorates the artistic legacy and vision of Larry Neal, the renowned author, academic and former Executive Director of the DC Commission on the Arts and Humanities. Awards will be presented for the artistic excellence of adult, teen and youth writers residing in the District of Columbia.